Welcome to Nissan GT-R Heritage
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Short Block Build - new OEM block or used core?

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

JohnnyTSi

JohnnyTSi

Stock

• Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 16-March 19
  • LocationEverett, WA
I'm at the limits of a FBO build and want to jump to the next level. My goals are modest with 800-1000 (ok 1200) wheel on ethanol.

Trying to decide on buying a New bare OEM block to start OR buy a used core and run it through my Machinist and do a dry sleeve.

of Note: I'm an accomplished mechanic and have all of the tools and expertise to check all measurements associated with a hi boost engine build!

I guess the real question is: Given a new block and a balanced rotating assembly, how 'ready' is a new block for assembly? If I have to get it adjusted at the machine shop, I may as well save a few bucks and start with a used core! 

Thanks,
John-

Beautiful Blue FBO 2013 R35 GTR

655/638tq Daily Driven street thrasher!

Cobb 3" Intakes
SBD Race Intercooler with TiAL BOVs

Cobb catted Down Pipes
Cobb mid pipe modded with a Borla resonator
MAP Muffled 3.5" cat back
ASNU 330 pumps
id1300x2 injectors
Visconti Flex Fuel kit
Omni 4bar Map sensor kit
Cobb Fuel Pressure sensor kit
Torque Solution Maf Block-off Plates

franzcars

franzcars

Stock

• OEM Member
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 16-March 13

For that power level, there's no reason to sleeve or go with a new block. A set of drop in Manley pistons and rods will be good for 13-1400whp. I'd reuse your block and have the machine shop balance the new rotating assembly, then just put it back together