Jump to content

Welcome to Nissan GT-R Heritage
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Any CEL issues when installing KW V3 suspension?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
socalaviator

socalaviator

    Stage 2.5 Member

  • Member
  • 295 posts
  • Joined 23-February 15
Have an appointment to install my KW V3 suspension today. As I was thinking about it, I realized that after the install the electronic aspect of my suspension is non-existant.

Will this throw any codes or CEL lights??

#2
Aequitas & Veritas

Aequitas & Veritas

    Stage 2 Member

  • Member
  • 218 posts
  • Joined 20-October 15
  • LocationJoplin, MO

I don't believe so, just the middle R for suspension wont illuminate. Least no issues other than that on my JRZ Pro Silents


IG - NoCrustGTR


#3
shawnhayes

shawnhayes

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 5,022 posts
  • Joined 11-September 13

Have an appointment to install my KW V3 suspension today. As I was thinking about it, I realized that after the install the electronic aspect of my suspension is non-existant.

Will this throw any codes or CEL lights??

 

Heard of some of them having CEL.  But most are tuned machines and I *THINK* the tuner can turn them off with Accessport or ECUTek.

 

I believe the only ones I've heard of were 2009's.

 

I have no PERSONAL experience with this, so I don't know for sure.

 

aequitas & Veritas, do you have a flash on yours?

 

Shawn



#4
OMG RB 26

OMG RB 26

    Stage 4 Member

  • Member
  • 781 posts
  • Joined 07-May 14
  • LocationPeoria, IL

It wont throw any codes on the MIL, but the codes will be present in the suspension ECU if you scan ecutek

 

Your "R" button just won't work


2009 GTR - Self Built 3.8, Elite Plus, Self Built Trans (1K equivalent) E85  etc

1/4 Mile - 8.8@164mph

1/2 Mile - 201mph


#5
Aequitas & Veritas

Aequitas & Veritas

    Stage 2 Member

  • Member
  • 218 posts
  • Joined 20-October 15
  • LocationJoplin, MO

Heard of some of them having CEL.  But most are tuned machines and I *THINK* the tuner can turn them off with Accessport or ECUTek.

 

I believe the only ones I've heard of were 2009's.

 

I have no PERSONAL experience with this, so I don't know for sure.

 

aequitas & Veritas, do you have a flash on yours?

 

Shawn

 

When I first bought it it in 2015 it was stock minus F/R Sways and the the JRZ Pro Silents. No codes were visible and no issues. 

 

I've since been tuned on Cobb with Linney and recently switched to Ecutek with Doug.


Edited by Aequitas & Veritas, 11 June 2018 - 12:51 PM.

IG - NoCrustGTR


#6
socalaviator

socalaviator

    Stage 2.5 Member

  • Member
  • 295 posts
  • Joined 23-February 15

It wont throw any codes on the MIL, but the codes will be present in the suspension ECU if you scan ecutek
 
Your "R" button just won't work


Awesome. Thanks for explanation.

Thanks to everyone who replied! You guys are always awesome and helpful!

#7
socalaviator

socalaviator

    Stage 2.5 Member

  • Member
  • 295 posts
  • Joined 23-February 15
Suspension is awesome. Nice balance between stiffness and compliance on crappy roads. Didn't have a chance to do any other seat-of-pants testing. They set it to 6 clicks out from full stuff on rebound. 1/2" drop from OEM. Gives it a nice look.
  • 7racer likes this

#8
shawnhayes

shawnhayes

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 5,022 posts
  • Joined 11-September 13

It wont throw any codes on the MIL, but the codes will be present in the suspension ECU if you scan ecutek

 

Your "R" button just won't work

 

 

When I first bought it it in 2015 it was stock minus F/R Sways and the the JRZ Pro Silents. No codes were visible and no issues. 

 

I've since been tuned on Cobb with Linney and recently switched to Ecutek with Doug.

 

This makes sense now.  It is a suspension error code only.  I THINK the 2009's allowed that to trip the "MIL" lamp, but they thought better of it later (maybe the ECU reprogram early in the life made it go away in the "MIL").

 

I've never seen it, just heard it mentioned.

 

Glad you are good socalaviator!!!

 

Shawn


  • socalaviator likes this

#9
OMG RB 26

OMG RB 26

    Stage 4 Member

  • Member
  • 781 posts
  • Joined 07-May 14
  • LocationPeoria, IL

This makes sense now.  It is a suspension error code only.  I THINK the 2009's allowed that to trip the "MIL" lamp, but they thought better of it later (maybe the ECU reprogram early in the life made it go away in the "MIL").

 

I've never seen it, just heard it mentioned.

 

Glad you are good socalaviator!!!

 

Shawn

 

Mine's an '09 and did not trip the MIL with the BC ER's installed


  • socalaviator likes this

2009 GTR - Self Built 3.8, Elite Plus, Self Built Trans (1K equivalent) E85  etc

1/4 Mile - 8.8@164mph

1/2 Mile - 201mph


#10
shawnhayes

shawnhayes

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 5,022 posts
  • Joined 11-September 13

Mine's an '09 and did not trip the MIL with the BC ER's installed

 

Good.  Did you have the LC2 update or are you flashed?

 

Shawn






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users