Jump to content

Welcome to Nissan GT-R Heritage
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

No fuel?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18
Hi there
I am trying to troubleshoot an issue with my car.
It doesn’t start. It cranks but doesn’t catch.
I ve noticed that the Cobb has a fuel pressure monitor in the gauges.
Should this show something when the start button is on the “on” position?
Also during cranking the pressure remains to 0. Checked the fuse
in the cabin but not the one in the engine bay yet. No error code on the Cobb. If it was a fuse issue wouldn’t come up with an error code?
My car is a 2012 GTR
Any help will be much appreciated
Thanks

#2
shawnhayes

shawnhayes

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 4,979 posts
  • Joined 11-September 13

No error code if the fuse is blown in my experience.

 

UNFORTUNATELY, there is no "low fuel pressure" warning on any ECU I have worked with that I have SEEN.  They may have one, but I've never seen it.

 

Check the power at the fuel pump, my $0.02

 

Shawn


  • Enshiu likes this

#3
Doug@WGP

Doug@WGP

    Stage 4 Member

  • Vendors
  • 2,682 posts
  • Joined 25-April 13
What mods are in it

Doug Ross
Owner of Weapons Grade Performance
-Northeast/Pacific Northwest Shops where we ONLY work on GT-Rs
-Owner/Builder of the 1st Ever Home Garage GT-R Drivetrain Removal
Cobb Protuner / EcuTek Tuner
-All Wheel Drive Mustang Dyno in House
doug@weaponsgradeperformance.com
Our Online Store
East Coast Location 226 N. Plains Industrial Rd, Wallingford CT 06492 203-668-4765


#4
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18
I have intake, full exhaust, NGK one step colder plugs, id1000 injectors, custom tune of course.
Last mod was spark plugs but did it a couple months ago.
Before that I did the pumps AEM 320lph the e85 compatible ones. But that was 4 months ago.
Any other ideas?

Edited by Jnin, 15 April 2018 - 08:28 PM.

  • Tim and Enshiu like this

#5
Enshiu

Enshiu

    Stage 2.5 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 284 posts
  • Joined 01-January 13
  • LocationNL,UK,JP

Have you checked your fuel pump computer?



Been working with enshiu on my car for the past 2 days. This guy is a mad scientist. He knows his stuff about GT-Rs. We spent the past few days changing brakes, rotors and upgrading my  gotboost full intercooler piping. Enshiu will post pics of my car later.

 

My project:

 

http://www.gtrherita...-600whp-upgrade


#6
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18

Have you checked your fuel pump computer?


Where is that located? And how can I check it?

Edited by Jnin, 15 April 2018 - 09:14 PM.


#7
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18
So I just got home and gave it a go
Car started straight away
Is it possible to be the colder spark plugs?
Because last night when I tried to start it it was a bit cold. (I am in Sydney Australia) and now is around 25 degrees Celsius...
Will that be the issue?
Car hasn’t been tuned with the racing spark plugs
  • Enshiu likes this

#8
Enshiu

Enshiu

    Stage 2.5 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 284 posts
  • Joined 01-January 13
  • LocationNL,UK,JP

So I just got home and gave it a go
Car started straight away
Is it possible to be the colder spark plugs?
Because last night when I tried to start it it was a bit cold. (I am in Sydney Australia) and now is around 25 degrees Celsius...
Will that be the issue?
Car hasn’t been tuned with the racing spark plugs

 

There you go ...... 8 is already very cold plugs for a gtr (bolt ons is 8 ok) 9 and 10 is more for 1k hp.

 

The computer is located on the driver side rear passenger side trim

 

Yy4gNd.png


Edited by Enshiu, 17 April 2018 - 04:45 PM.


Been working with enshiu on my car for the past 2 days. This guy is a mad scientist. He knows his stuff about GT-Rs. We spent the past few days changing brakes, rotors and upgrading my  gotboost full intercooler piping. Enshiu will post pics of my car later.

 

My project:

 

http://www.gtrherita...-600whp-upgrade


#9
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18

There you go ...... 8 is already very cold plugs for a gtr (bolt ons is 8 ok) 9 and 10 is more for 1k hp.

The computer is located on the driver side rear passenger side trim

Yy4gNd.png

Thanks mate
I started it yesterday morning which was a bit cold and it started straight away.
I tried today just now and it didn’t start...
It’s driving me crazy...
Should I get the stock plugs?
I will check if it delivers fuel tomorrow. Can I do that from the fuel lines in the engine bay? Also How can I check if that it has spark?
Can I do it with the Cobb?
 

Also I forgot to mention that the first time it happened when was I bleeding the brakes.

Car was raised on the rear right wheel where the pumps are.

I had a quarter of fuel left and the brake pedal was a bit tight, but second time I tried it started straight away so I thought it was because it was raised.


Edited by Jnin, 18 April 2018 - 05:01 AM.

  • Enshiu likes this

#10
Enshiu

Enshiu

    Stage 2.5 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 284 posts
  • Joined 01-January 13
  • LocationNL,UK,JP

stock plugs is wayyy enough for bolt ons.

 

It could be you jacked the car up and the fuel is transferred to the left side of the tank so not enough fuel to start.


Edited by Enshiu, 18 April 2018 - 04:18 PM.


Been working with enshiu on my car for the past 2 days. This guy is a mad scientist. He knows his stuff about GT-Rs. We spent the past few days changing brakes, rotors and upgrading my  gotboost full intercooler piping. Enshiu will post pics of my car later.

 

My project:

 

http://www.gtrherita...-600whp-upgrade


#11
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18

stock plugs is wayyy enough for bolt ons.

It could be you jacked the car up and the fuel is transferred to the left side of the tank so not enough fuel to start.


Yes but since then I filled it up and was still doing the same thing. I also checked the main pump fuse. Everything ok there too. This morning started first go...
Pumps are working fine. A bit noisy when I take the seat off but they work. Enshiu I checked what you told me and it’s fine. On the road is very very smooth and powerful as it always was...it drives me crazy. I will check the plugs later today...

#12
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18
Another thing is that when I try to start it up and doesn’t I don’t smell fuel at all. If it was spark plugs then the exhaust should smell of petrol correct?
  • Enshiu likes this

#13
Enshiu

Enshiu

    Stage 2.5 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 284 posts
  • Joined 01-January 13
  • LocationNL,UK,JP

Have you checked your fuel pump relay and obd codes? Any videos of non start?

 

check your fuel pressure regulator

 

round partson the fuel rail.


Edited by Enshiu, 19 April 2018 - 05:40 PM.


Been working with enshiu on my car for the past 2 days. This guy is a mad scientist. He knows his stuff about GT-Rs. We spent the past few days changing brakes, rotors and upgrading my  gotboost full intercooler piping. Enshiu will post pics of my car later.

 

My project:

 

http://www.gtrherita...-600whp-upgrade


#14
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18

Have you checked your fuel pump relay and obd codes? Any videos of non start?

check your fuel pressure regulator

round partson the fuel rail.


I haven’t checked the relay.
It’s in the boot I think? No codes. I have accessport and doesn’t throw anything.
I will also get a video when it happens again.

#15
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18
Ok it appears that the exhaust guy did a dodgy job when he was installing my IPE exhaust. He got the 12v cable and he put it with the main fuel pump fuse...
I took it out, fixed it and put it back on. Since then my GTR starts first go...
Does anyone know a safe place that I can connect that cable and not in the fuse box? I guess it needs to be connected to a source that gives power when the engine starts?
  • Enshiu likes this

#16
shawnhayes

shawnhayes

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 4,979 posts
  • Joined 11-September 13

Ok it appears that the exhaust guy did a dodgy job when he was installing my IPE exhaust. He got the 12v cable and he put it with the main fuel pump fuse...
I took it out, fixed it and put it back on. Since then my GTR starts first go...
Does anyone know a safe place that I can connect that cable and not in the fuse box? I guess it needs to be connected to a source that gives power when the engine starts?

 

Depends on how much load.  Best place if load is low is the 12V power outlet.  You can also do that at the fuse box though - not much on that circuit.

 

Shawn


  • Enshiu likes this

#17
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18

Depends on how much load. Best place if load is low is the 12V power outlet. You can also do that at the fuse box though - not much on that circuit.

Shawn


Thanks mate. I want to avoid the fuse box and putting it with another circuit like the dodgy job that the exhaust guy did :-).

#18
shawnhayes

shawnhayes

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 4,979 posts
  • Joined 11-September 13

Thanks mate. I want to avoid the fuse box and putting it with another circuit like the dodgy job that the exhaust guy did :-).

 

There's two 12v outlets as you know.  One in console and one in dash.  You may be able to tap off that.

 

Shawn



#19
Enshiu

Enshiu

    Stage 2.5 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 284 posts
  • Joined 01-January 13
  • LocationNL,UK,JP

Or make a relay circuit signal wire on 12V+ when on.

 

Wtf has the exhaust guy to do with the 12V?

 

Electronic valve?


Edited by Enshiu, 24 April 2018 - 07:45 PM.


Been working with enshiu on my car for the past 2 days. This guy is a mad scientist. He knows his stuff about GT-Rs. We spent the past few days changing brakes, rotors and upgrading my  gotboost full intercooler piping. Enshiu will post pics of my car later.

 

My project:

 

http://www.gtrherita...-600whp-upgrade


#20
Jnin

Jnin

    Stock

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 26-February 18

Or make a relay circuit signal wire on 12V+ when on.

Wtf has the exhaust guy to do with the 12V?

Electronic valve?


Yes IPE exhaust has the electronic valve.
How can I do that relay circuit signal? Any diagrams or what will I need?

Thanks
  • Enshiu likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users