Jump to content

Welcome to Nissan GT-R Heritage
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

NT01 285/315 wheel speed differential data

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#21
elf_cruiser

elf_cruiser

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 1,554 posts
  • Joined 13-September 13

20x10 20x12.


I think if you had 10" wide wheels in the rear then you would be golden.

2010 GT-R - Matte Gray, AP/Carbotech, BSE trans cooler, BSE tune on ECUTek, H&R sways, AMSOIL, NASA-AZ TT2 and occasional DD
1976 FJ-40 Rock Buggy - tube chassis, LQ4, 700R4, NP205, Rockwells, F&R hydraulic steering, Fox, Ballistic, lots of 4130, 7068, and AR400

2001 Ford Excursion - V10, DD and occasional tow rig

facebook.com/DangerousEnterprises

Do want someday - Radical, 599 GTB w/FHP, 430 Scud, Superlite Coupe, FF Type 65 Coupe


#22
shawnhayes

shawnhayes

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 4,508 posts
  • Joined 11-September 13

Let me tell you guys what I got from Shep.

 

The ONLY way to know if wheels/tires are going to work is to fit, mount, and do a manual rollout of the car (preferably with marked tires).

 

He was REAL clear about this.

 

I just have faith that my square setups are CLOSE.  Even on the stock rims, but even then they're not perfect.

 

Shawn


  • changster and elf_cruiser like this

#23
J5isalive

J5isalive

    Stage 3 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 315 posts
  • Joined 27-September 13

Question on related subject... would an all wheel drive controller not help this a bit?    Dont the new AWD Units better control when and how the front tires begin to receive power?



#24
changster

changster

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 2,154 posts
  • Joined 26-January 13
  • LocationBay Area + Taipei

Let me tell you guys what I got from Shep.

 

The ONLY way to know if wheels/tires are going to work is to fit, mount, and do a manual rollout of the car (preferably with marked tires).

 

He was REAL clear about this.

 

I just have faith that my square setups are CLOSE.  Even on the stock rims, but even then they're not perfect.

 

Shawn

 

Basically we need to mount it and have weight on the tires, then measure the roll out correct?


- 4.4 liter Alpha 12 built by TSM (R.I.P)
- 4.1 liter ER/ETS 6466 built myself with the help of everyone.

- 4.2 liter billet block <? big boy kit> coming.

 

13180940063_33e81c30d6_z.jpg


#25
changster

changster

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 2,154 posts
  • Joined 26-January 13
  • LocationBay Area + Taipei

Question on related subject... would an all wheel drive controller not help this a bit?    Dont the new AWD Units better control when and how the front tires begin to receive power?

 

 

Are you on Motec? I forget.


  • J5isalive likes this

- 4.4 liter Alpha 12 built by TSM (R.I.P)
- 4.1 liter ER/ETS 6466 built myself with the help of everyone.

- 4.2 liter billet block <? big boy kit> coming.

 

13180940063_33e81c30d6_z.jpg


#26
shawnhayes

shawnhayes

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 4,508 posts
  • Joined 11-September 13

Basically we need to mount it and have weight on the tires, then measure the roll out correct?


Basically what he said. Unable to tell from manufacturers data if the outer diameters will work. Mounted on different sized rims, even a square setup has some risk of having different diameters. It's unlikely, but still possible. Different tires and different rims are a potshot.

A pain in the ass, that's for sure.

Shawn

#27
J5isalive

J5isalive

    Stage 3 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 315 posts
  • Joined 27-September 13

Are you on Motec? I forget.


No. Cobb tuned, Ecutek TCM, KAPS Awd Controller.
  • changster and 7racer like this

#28
thehelix112

thehelix112

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 3,635 posts
  • Joined 14-June 13
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA

No. Cobb tuned, Ecutek TCM, KAPS Awd Controller.


How's the kaps?! Im super keen to try one for circuit work. What are you using it to do?

Dave

#29
J5isalive

J5isalive

    Stage 3 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 315 posts
  • Joined 27-September 13

How's the kaps?! Im super keen to try one for circuit work. What are you using it to do?

Dave


Got to be honest I haven't pushed the car in a circuit environment to be able to give you a good answer. The real benefit I have seen with it is being able to switch to RWD and warm up the rear tires before a 1/2 mile pass. Taking the car to Tx2k so it will be helpful in drag racing.

I know a fair number of large shops seem to like the KAPS unit and it's pretty highly reccomended.

Sorry not a real good review of it... just don't have the before and after back to back experience to give a great review.
  • thehelix112 likes this

#30
7racer

7racer

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 6,725 posts
  • Joined 24-March 13

No. Cobb tuned, Ecutek TCM, KAPS Awd Controller.

 

and from what I read KAPS is the maker correct?  Visconti, Linney rebrand it?  Anyone support it better than the other?

Linney have more custom maps?


  • Tim likes this

In7anity!!


#31
7racer

7racer

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 6,725 posts
  • Joined 24-March 13

How's the kaps?! Im super keen to try one for circuit work. What are you using it to do?

Dave

 

I might switch to this from my Doluck. Was going to test the Doluck again with my new build then decide


In7anity!!


#32
thehelix112

thehelix112

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 3,635 posts
  • Joined 14-June 13
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA

I might switch to this from my Doluck. Was going to test the Doluck again with my new build then decide


Yeah I have a pretty specific use case I want help with. Exiting a low speed hairpin in 2nd I want the car to go to awd mode preemptively, I know it is going to slip, I want it to be all 4 and then transition back to awd as it gets quicker. I struggle to get the power down there as I lift to counter the oversteer before the system can send power to the front.

I just want it to already be sending power to the front and just pull me out of the corner.

Does the do luck have speed/gear based bias tuning?

Dave

#33
elf_cruiser

elf_cruiser

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 1,554 posts
  • Joined 13-September 13

Yeah I have a pretty specific use case I want help with. Exiting a low speed hairpin in 2nd I want the car to go to awd mode preemptively, I know it is going to slip, I want it to be all 4 and then transition back to awd as it gets quicker. I struggle to get the power down there as I lift to counter the oversteer before the system can send power to the front.

I just want it to already be sending power to the front and just pull me out of the corner.

Does the do luck have speed/gear based bias tuning?

Dave


I hear you on that, Dave - I have the same experience in my car. Staggered tires help a LOT, however the steady state balance is shifted towards understeer. Sending more power up front sooner might help, but also might break parts...

2010 GT-R - Matte Gray, AP/Carbotech, BSE trans cooler, BSE tune on ECUTek, H&R sways, AMSOIL, NASA-AZ TT2 and occasional DD
1976 FJ-40 Rock Buggy - tube chassis, LQ4, 700R4, NP205, Rockwells, F&R hydraulic steering, Fox, Ballistic, lots of 4130, 7068, and AR400

2001 Ford Excursion - V10, DD and occasional tow rig

facebook.com/DangerousEnterprises

Do want someday - Radical, 599 GTB w/FHP, 430 Scud, Superlite Coupe, FF Type 65 Coupe


#34
7racer

7racer

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 6,725 posts
  • Joined 24-March 13

Yeah I have a pretty specific use case I want help with. Exiting a low speed hairpin in 2nd I want the car to go to awd mode preemptively, I know it is going to slip, I want it to be all 4 and then transition back to awd as it gets quicker. I struggle to get the power down there as I lift to counter the oversteer before the system can send power to the front.

I just want it to already be sending power to the front and just pull me out of the corner.

Does the do luck have speed/gear based bias tuning?

Dave

Nope, it basically uses the GT-Rs algorithm and tricks it.

So for left or right cornering I can set a certain % more that it sends the signal to the AWD system. Same for accel decel.

Does that make sense?

I like it as you don't have to fiddle with it and you just pick a preset. Though 2 slots are customizable.

Edited by 7racer, 15 February 2017 - 06:13 AM.

  • thehelix112 likes this

In7anity!!


#35
thehelix112

thehelix112

    Stage 4 Member

  • OEM Member
  • 3,635 posts
  • Joined 14-June 13
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA
Thanks 7. Makes sense I think.

Dave




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users